poetry

Crossing the Rubicon

Born to glory, from rested ashes;

Of a past cordoned off in Wants.

Glistening in oil, anointed by experience;

Of a tread over-wrought with Cants.

Steadfast, unwavering steps across waters;

Rolling with testing truths and fateful lies.

Hold my gaze, don’t wither away;

Watch me, fixated, I cross the Rubicon.

Ominous flashes, crystal clear drapes;

Sleeves hung with dark diamonds galore.

A trail of silver dust, traces of despair;

Shush! Am I the conqueror after all?!

Your Crassus dead, Magnus forlorn;

Numbers you count, desperation reeking.

Kneel, you silly man, don’t hover in vain;

Step into the dearth of your own cosmic fate.

Listen, listen close;

Is that whisper from your Ebenezer?!

Listen, listen closer;

For YOU are my Rome,

and I, your Caesar.

Leave a comment